Return to site

Introduction to Libby

Hi I'm Libby,

I'm 18 years old and currently studying level 3 animal management at Otley College. I am in my second year and really enjoying it. As part of the course we undertake 150 hours of work experience each year. In year 1 I volunteered at the Blue Cross Suffolk. There I helped out with daily tasks such as kennel cleaning, animal socialising and exercising. I worked with a variety of dogs and cats.

A couple of years ago we rescued a dog called April, she was rescued from the streets with another dog. She is 5 years old and is the laziest dog, spending all day every day sleeping. However she does enjoy a long morning walk and playing with her toys.

When I was 14 I went to South Africa for 3 weeks as part of my year 10 work experience. My friend and I worked a week in a vets and a zoo. We got to work with a variety of animals, including going out on call with a vet to a wildlife park where we worked up close with lions and cubs. we also did a lot of enrichment with a variety of the animals at the zoo, including a 6 month old Gibbon called Joshua who enjoyed lots of cuddles and attention.

Next year I am thinking of going to university to study animal behaviour which I am looking forward to. I would also love to travel around the world seeing what else is out there and working with more animals native to each country.

All Posts
×

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OK